Home

WARNING: This piece reads like a diary entry, with maybe a few worthwhile url links. I’m hoping the continuation of #write365 will not be so gobbledeegook, but even writing boring stuff is better than writing no stuff! And I’m going to go to bed and write/brainstorm some more before sleepy time, so winning all around. Tomorrow, I promise to add a bit more seasoning, vegetables, and meat to my soup, cuz this is runny and bland. (I also promise that most of my other posts are interesting/intriguing/thought-provoking/goofy/funny/worthwhile so if you feel like you need something more substantial, go check out some other posts.)

Today, I spent entirely too much time on the computer/on my phone, plugged in. I was hoping I was going to do more to…work on my resume, write this blog post, update my LinkedIn, write a cover letter, apply to a job. But, no. I didn’t really do any of that. I watched a ton of stupid videos (example A- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y31jRIhtvqo), read a few news articles, got really distracted, and I don’t even know what else I did with the last five hours if I’m being honest with myself (in general I try to be). (Okay, I did something productive. I did a Spanish lesson on Duolingo and with my roommates, both fluent, one a native speaker.) I didn’t really have any great moments of clarity or creativity today. No idea what I should write about. And then I came across this article, which makes a lot of sense as to why I struggled to think of anything to write about (http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2015/01/12/376717870/bored-and-brilliant-a-challenge-to-disconnect-from-your-phone?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=npr&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20150112). So tomorrow, less phone and computer time, more boredom and creativity. The crazy thing is that I have been wanting to write about how I feel like I have to prove my masculinity as a woman, and I couldn’t even think about where to begin to do the topic justice! (Don’t worry, I will write about it, but not today because I do want to give that post the time, energy, and thought it deserves.)

Other things I watched today: a Belgian cartoon about a farting pig, a Swedish cartoon about genitals and educating kids about them, way too many fake pronunciation videos, a handful of Ellen Show clips, last night’s Golden Globes, some random dance videos, videos meant to inspire physical activity, and some random IFLS videos. You know how some people keep a food diary to be cognizant of what they are eating, especially if they have certain dietary restrictions? I’m starting to think I should keep an internet diary to encourage myself to stop wasting so much time on stupid shit. Or at least, be productive before falling down the rabbit hole of stupid internet stuff.

In other news, I tried on reading glasses today. I think I need them. I’ll have that sexy librarian thing going for me then though, right? Right. I’m drawing a blank. So instead of torturing you all with more blah blah blah, whomp whomp whomp whomp whaaa whaamp, I’ll cut this one short and maybe get off the computer to find my words elsewhere. I haven’t looked in my journal lately, maybe I left them in there. My room is a disaster so they could be hiding ANYwhere in there too. Ugh, so hard to keep track of the darned things.

Until tomorrow

Page 3 of 365

Leave a Reply

